Meet Our Village Monday: Kendra

And we're back! Hope you all had a great holiday last Monday, celebrating our country and honoring those who have been and continue to be dedicated to preserving our freedom.

This Monday we are excited to be featuring Kendra Ruppert! I remember meeting Kendra for the first time right before I took Summer 2014 off from Stroller Strides when my second child was born. It's been great getting to know her more during these last two years AND I love that she has beautiful news to share in her answer about her family. :-)

How long have you been with FIT4MOM?

I've been with FIT4MOM for about 2 years!

In what way(s) have you participated in FIT4MOM (Fit4Baby, Stroller Strides, BodyBack)?

I attend Stroller Strides.

Tell us about your family.

My family consists of my husband, Daniel and my son Micah, 2 1/2 years old. I am from the U.P. and my husband is from southern Illinois, but we've lived in Grand Rapids for about 7 years. We are also expecting another baby in January!

What is one thing you love about Stroller Strides/Fit4Baby/BodyBack?

Stroller Strides is great because it gets you outside and out of the house with your child, all the while getting in your fitness quota for the day and being able to chat and hang out with other mamas, while your child has playmates of his own!

Favorite exercise?

Favorite exercise is the HIIT workouts - intense bursts!

Favorite food?

Favorite food is my mother's southern home cooking: foods like chicken and dumplings and cabbage rolls. Love visiting my parents house ;-)

What are some things you like to do outside of exercising and being a mom?

I also enjoy going to the movie theater/watching movies, trying out new restaurants/foods (foodie, here!), being involved in my church, watching cooking shows, hiking around the lake in my hometown of Marquette, Michigan.

What do you do for work or what did you do before baby?

Before I had a baby I had a full time job where I was in charge of running the front desk of a medical family practice office. I still work in the same office which turns into an urgent care on nights/weekends, but I only work about 2 Saturdays a month now.

Have you played any sports in the past or what sport would you like to learn?

In high school I played tennis and was the #1 singles player on our team, and ran middle distance track.

What is a piece of advice you can pass on to fellow moms?

My advice is to remember you are not alone when things seems hard and it feels that you are the only one going through tough times with being a mom. There are always other moms out there dealing with the same issues. The best thing to do is find them and your "village" so you don't feel alone and can go through these things together!

Thank you for being part of our community, Kendra! We are all so excited about welcoming another baby into our village! :-)

© 2017 Fit4Mom Grand Rapids | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service